Targa Tasmania 2016 – the results

01_AGR_Targa_update (4)The 25th running of the world famous Targa Tasmania rally is over and the champagne has been sprayed. For AGR the event didn’t happen quite the way it was planned – we passed scrutineering and made it into the famous Silverdome but it went downhill from there. Whilst I missed the chance to throw my helmet on in competition, our mechanical misfortune did provide the opportunity to get out onto the stages with the camera and shoot the record 360+ car field. There’s plenty more Targa Tasmania material to come, but for now, the results…

AGR_Close_GT3Wrest Point GT2
1st, Matt Close/Cameron Reeves, 2015 Porsche 911 GT3

AGR_Pritchard_ACR2nd, Michael Pritchard/Gary Mourant, 2016 Dodge Viper ACR, +6m41s

AGR_Richards_GT43rd, Jim Richards/Barry Oliver, 2015 Porsche Cayman GT4, +11m18s

AGR_Glenney_WRXCountry Club GT4
1st, Steve Glenney/Tim Kulhanek, 2008 Subaru WRX STi

AGR_Quinn_Huracan2nd, Tony Quinn/Naomi Tillett, 2015 Lamborghini Huracan, +3m16s

AGR_Kennard_GTR3rd, Angus Kennard/Ian Wheeler, 2015 Nissan GTR, +4m13s

AGR_Achterberg_944Shannons Classic
1st, Leigh Achterberg/Greg Fitzgerald, 1982 Porsche 944

AGR_Ulrich_CV82nd, Peter Ullrich/Sari Ullrich, 1963 Jensen CV8, +1m06s

AGR_Freestone_DB43rd, Paul Freestone/Christine Freestone, 1960 Aston Martin DB4, +2m20s

AGR_Siddins_240ZShannons Classic GT
1st, Jon Siddins/Gina Siddins, 1970 Datsun 240Z

AGR_Faux_RX72nd, Barry Faux/Therezia Mihajlovic, 1985 Mazda RX-7, +5:25

AGR_Wearing_TR73rd, Cameron Wearing/Tania Wearing, 1981 Triumph TR7 V8, +7m24s

AGR_Bollom_RX7Spirit of Tasmania and Dutton Garage Early Modern
1st, Andrew Bollom/Lee Challoner-Miles, 1995 Mazda RX-7

AGR_Balcombe_RX72nd, Mark Balcombe/Brian Foster, 1995 Mazda RX-7 SP, +1m15s

AGR_Thatcher_GTR3rd, Stephen Thatcher/Kelly Handley, Nissan ATTKD Select R SP, +4m40s

AGR_Winterbourn_EvoRDA Brakes Modern
1. Brendan Winterbourn/Anthony Chudleigh, 2011 Mitsubishi Evolution X

AGR_Burrows_Evo2nd, Greg Burrowes/Rhonda Burrowes, 2009 Mitsubishi Evolution X, +5m15s

AGR_Mayer_GT3RS3rd, Peter Mayer/Nicole O’Neill, 2007 Porsche 911 GT3 RS, +9m18s

AGR_Clark_DodgeShannons Vintage
1st, Wayne Clark/Trevor Berriman, 1938 Dodge Speedster Special

AGR_Copeland_DeSoto2nd, Graham Copeland/Josh Herbert, 1936 Desoto Special, +1h32m02s

AGR_Beable_GTRBudget GT Sports Trophy
1st, Jeff Beable/Nerida Beable, 2000 Nissan Skyline GT-R N1

AGR_Froude_9111st Classic, Simon Froude/Jason Powning, 1973 Porsche 911 Carrera RSR +33:14

AGR_Marshall_PursuitBudget TSD Trophy
1. Darryl Marshall/Andrew Marshall, 2002 Ford Falcon Ute Pursuit 250, 102pts

Photos by Andrew Coles, Any Given Reason

# # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # #

About the author

Andrew Coles:


Leave a Reply